TB laboratory network

A strong TB laboratory network is essential to ensure timely and universal access to quality-assured diagnostics. Trained human resources, adequate infrastructure, equipment, a quality assurance system, a sample transportation network, a supply of commodities, and a monitoring system are key components of such a laboratory network.  

NTRL is an apex laboratory in TB laboratory network which works along with the PPHL and Provincial TB Laboratory present in each province to provide quality assured TB laboratory diagnosis service to the patients. There are 133 GeneXpert machines in 117 GeneXpert centers in 67 districts to provide TB diagnosis and rapid DST to patients. There are currently 786 TB designated microscopy centers (DMC) across the country. Sample collection centers further under DMC or mWRD centers with a robust sample transportation system are planned to increase accessibility to TB lab services.












National Tuberculosis Reference Laboratory (NTRL)

National Tuberculosis Control Center Laboratory is a public health laboratory that has been rendering TB laboratory services across the country. The Laboratory was established in 1989 as a central-level TB laboratory and it was upgraded to a National Tuberculosis Reference Laboratory (NTRL) in 2013. It is the highest authority of TB diagnostic network.  It provides TB diagnostic services, monitors the progress of TB treatment, and assists in the management of TB patients.

The NTRL provides TB diagnostic services as:

It receives referral samples from drug resistance (DR) treatment centers from 5 provinces: Province 1, Madhesh Province, Bagmati Province, Gandaki Province, and Lumbini Province to monitor the prognosis of the DR-TB patients. The referral samples from Karnali Province and Sudurpaschim Province are processed in NATA/GENETUP laboratory.

The responsibilities of the NTCC, NTRL include

Laboratory Contact Details:

NTCC Laboratory, Thimi, Bhaktapur
+977-01-6630706 / +977-01-6630832
Email: ntrl.ntcc@gmail.com


Normal Operational Hours

Sunday- Thursday (Magh 16 – Kartik 15)

10:00 – 17:00 hrs

Sunday- Thursday (Kartik 16 – Magh 15)

10:00 – 16:00 hrs


10:00 – 15:00 hrs

Saturdays and Public Holidays